The Human Cause

Raising awareness of HIV and AIDS one mile at a time.

In the Absence of a Cure, Education and Prevention are Keys to Ending AIDS

I am sometimes asked why I am not raising funds for HIV and AIDS here in my own community in San Diego. The truth is Carol and I volunteer for AIDS Walk San Diego every year and support our friends who do the event through donations. We also participate in other local HIV/AIDS fundraisers like Dining Out for Life and support friends raising funds for HIV and AIDS services in other communities. To us, the fight to end this disease is bigger than our “local” community. It is a global fight, and whenever and wherever work is being done to end this pandemic, it benefits us all – it is a battle we should all be waging, locally and globally. Beneficiaries of AIDS/LifeCycle, the LA Gay and Lesbian Center and SF AIDS Foundation, have been at the forefront in battling AIDS and caring for those who are HIV-infected since the earliest days of the pandemic. These organizations have developed programs, funded research, lobbied on the state and national level and served thousands in need. Every dollar they raise ultimately serves the bigger community that is the world. They save lives and give hope to an end to AIDS. I don’t see the HIV-infected mother in Africa or the man fighting AIDS in San Francisco any differently than I see my neighbor. I see them as my fellow human citizens – they ARE my community.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “In the Absence of a Cure, Education and Prevention are Keys to Ending AIDS

  1. patti1harlow on said:

    There have been times during Suzi’s fundraising for AIDS/LifeCycle, when talking to friends about donations, that someone has said to me, “I only have $10 to give.” My reply has always been, “Yes, but if someone else gives $10 or even $5, that will eventually add up to $25 which will fund an initial screening test for HIV/AIDS.” In my community (waaay older adults) the stigma is still there with some. There is no explaining to a lot of them; they still have that “… ewww, I don’t even want to think about it” look on their face like you get when you taste a lemon. I don’t want to say closed minds; I know they have hearts, and they are not stingy with their money – they do support other causes. I just think it’s because they’ve felt this way from the beginning in the early ’80 – and nothing is changing their minds. Kinda like those people who don’t understand computers, and have no desire to learn – it’s that age group. I will always support this cause that Suzi and Carol are dedicated to – I will never give up.

  2. Love you, Mommie. Your support keeps us going!

  3. Anything for you my precious baby – it will always be my pleasure.

Leave a Reply

